## Honours and Awards

The QPS acknowledges the outstanding efforts of our members and rewards officers who demonstrate exemplary commitment and dedication to their duties and who go above and beyond to protect and serve the community of Queensland. Listed below are some of the awards that were presented to QPS members in recognition of their accomplishments.



The **QPS Valour Award** is awarded to police officers who perform an act of exceptional bravery in hazardous circumstances. In 2016-17, the following QPS officers received the QPS Valour Award:

Assistant Commissioner Mike Condon Senior Sergeant Peter Bowser Senior Sergeant Bradyn Murphy Sergeant Gary Hamrey Sergeant Paul Williams
Senior Constable Stephen Cook
Senior Constable Brett Forte
Senior Constable Luke Rowley



The **QPS Bravery Medal** is awarded for acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances. In 2016-17, the following QPS members received the QPS Bravery Medal:

Senior Sergeant Nathan Blain Senior Sergeant Graham Boyd Sergeant Paul Chiles Sergeant Barry Haran Sergeant Gregory St Clair Senior Constable Jacob Flaherty Senior Constable Joseph Kelly Senior Constable Danijel Lukic Senior Constable David Murray Constable Lachlan Knowles Constable Wayne Querruel



The **Australian Police Medal (APM)** is awarded for distinguished police service in an Australian police agency. In 2016-17, the following QPS members received the APM:

Superintendent Amanda Brownhill Superintendent Michelle Stenner Inspector Sharee Cumming Inspector Peter Flanders Inspector Christopher Jory Inspector Trevor Kidd Inspector Robert McCall
Inspector Virginia Nelson
Senior Sergeant Bradyn Murphy
Sergeant Paula Byrne
Sergeant Narelle Collins



The QPS Exemplary Conduct Medal is awarded to QPS members who demonstrate exemplary conduct in a specific role or duty which enhances the professional image of the QPS, far exceeding what might be reasonably expected from an efficient member of the Service. In 2016-17, the following QPS members received the QPS Exemplary Conduct Medal:

Former Detective Superintendent David Hutchinson Superintendent James Keogh Detective Inspector David Hickey Inspector Shane Holmes Senior Sergeant David Clarke Senior Sergeant Ian Frame Senior Sergeant Stephen Hall Former Detective Senior Sergeant Ian Hutchieson

Senior Sergeant Matthew Kelly

Detective Senior Sergeant Tim Leadbetter
Detective Senior Sergeant Chris McCann
Former Senior Sergeant Gavin Raison
Senior Sergeant Danny Willett
Sergeant Nicole Fox
Sergeant Janette Harry
Sergeant Lyall Trost
Sergeant Andrea Von Papen
Senior Constable James Fraser

## **NATIONAL POLICE REMEMBRANCE DAY 2016**

The QPS celebrated National Police Remembrance Day on 29 September 2016 with marches, church services and candlelight vigils held across the state. On this day, we remembered and honoured Queensland police officers who have been killed in the line of duty.

All police officers and the community at large are encouraged to wear a blue and white chequered ribbon in commemoration of those who have made the ultimate sacrifice to keep the peace and enforce the law. More information on National Police Remembrance Day is available at <a href="https://www.police.gld.gov.au">www.police.gld.gov.au</a>.



## WITH HONOUR THEY SERVED

			_		
Constable M. Connolly	1861	Constable J. Christiansen	1915	Detective Senior Constable D.R. Ney	1968
Constable P.W. Cahill	1867	Constable J. Thompson	1916	Senior Constable C.W. Brown	1969
Constable J.F. Power	1867	Constable T. Dedman	1916	Constable N.A. Steele	1969
Constable A. Wood	1872	Constable G. Dewhurst	1916	Constable A.R. Cambage	1969
Sub-Inspector G. Dyas	1881	Constable W.E. Bishop	1916	Senior Constable R.P. Moore	1970
Sub-Inspector H.P. Kaye	1881	Constable P. Mulvie	1917	Senior Constable J. Rynne	1971
Cadet Sub-Inspector M. Beresford	1883	Constable A.J. Curvey	1917	Senior Constable G. Ball	1972
Constable W. Dwyer	1883	Constable H. McLean	1917	Constable 1/c N.A. Green	1974
Constable N. Roberts	1884	Constable J. Graham	1917	Sergeant 2/c R.J. Harrris	1975
Constable J. McMullen	1884	Constable O.H. Goodrich	1917	Senior Constable L.M. Hoey	1975
Constable J. Stewart	1885	Constable P. Devine	1917	Inspector J.M. Walsh	1977
Senior Constable H.J. Fetherston	1885	Constable J. Warfield	1918	Constable 1/c R.E. Seefeld	1977
Senior Constable W. Considine	1887	Constable J. Fitzgerald	1918	Technical Officer Grade 1 J.P.	1979
Serior Constable W. Considire	1007	Constable 3. I itzgerald	1310	Browning	1313
Canatable T. I. Callaghan	1000	Constable H. Wells	1010	S .	1000
Constable T.J. Callaghan	1888		1918	Constable V.J. Hennelly	1980
Senior Constable A. Wavell	1889	Constable W.W. Dumbrell	1918	Constable T.R. Thompson	1981
Constable W. Arundell	1890	Constable F.A. White	1918	Constable R.A. Wilson	1981
Constable P.J.Curtin	1891	Constable D.O' Donoghue	1918	Senior Constable R.J. Moody	1982
Constable W.J Doyle	1891	Constable T. McGillycuddy	1918	Constable J.M. Sturrock	1984
Constable J. Sangster	1893	Constable C.E. Castree	1918	Constable M.L. Low	1984
Constable E. Lanigan	1894	Constable J. Herbert	1918	Sergeant J.D. Neideck	1984
Constable B. Ebbitt	1894	Constable D.J Dodds	1918	Senior Constable A.P. Anderson	1987
Constable T.M. Black	1895	Constable E.R. Pastorelli	1918	Senior Constable P.G.J. Kidd	1987
Senior Constable W. Conroy	1895	Constable J.P. Taylor	1918	Senior Constable P.A. Wegner	1987
Constable W.G Clarke	1895	Constable T. Griffin	1921	Plain Clothes Constable B.T. Handran	1989
Constable A. Lowe	1896	Acting Sergeant W. O'Rourke	1924	Constable A.L. Greaves	1991
Constable J. Quinn	1896	Constable R.S.R. Alexander	1926	Constable M.L. Goodwin	1991
Constable R. Roots	1897	Plain Clothes Constable A.J.L.	1930	Constable S.N. Lena	1992
		Crust			
Constable P. Cahill	1898	Constable E.J. Dawson	1931	Constable S.W. Gill	1996
Constable J. Cullen	1901	Constable J. Herbert	1931	Detective Sergeant L.J. Hooper	1997
Constable G.Doyle	1902	Constable R. Kyle	1933	Senior Constable N.J. Watt	2000
Acting Sergeant D. Johnson	1903	Constable G.R. Young	1938	Senior Constable D.A. Shean	2001
Constable 1/c C. O' Kearney	1904	Constable D. Nicol	1947	Senior Sergeant P.J. Irwin	2003
Constable A.G. Price	1904	Sergeant 1/c A. Neden	1947	Constable S.E. Urquhart	2005
Constable R. Orme	1905		1951	Senior Constable C.I. Barwise	2005
		Constable H.F. Bidner			
Sergeant T.J. Heaney	1906	Constable J.R. Ward	1952	Detective Sergeant S.I. Kerlin	2006
Constable J. Murtagh	1908	Constable M. J. Howard	1953	Constable B.A. Irwin	2007
Constable P. Ryan	1908	Constable 1/c R. Doyle	1956	Sergeant D.A. Stiller	2010
Constable F. Hoge	1908	Constable K.S. Mason	1956	Detective Senior Constable D.	2011
				Leeding	
Sub-Inspector M. Broderick	1909	Senior Constable D. Gregory	1956	Constable C. Blain	2013
Constable W.J Mercer	1910	Constable B.J. Gabriel	1956		
Constable P. J. McCabe	1913	Constable L. Smith	1957		
Constable W. Murray	1913	Constable A.R. Muir	1958		
Constable W. Quinlan	1914	Constable 1/c G.J. Olive	1962		
Constable S. Tierney	1914	Constable D.W. Wrembeck	1962		
Constable P.J. Moynihan	1915	Senior Constable C.R. Bagley	1963		
Constable D.C. Bourke	1915	Senior Constable D. Trannore	1964		
Constable W.J. Hughes	1915	Constable J. Reid	1966		
Constable J. Johnston	1915	Senior Constable C.M. Wilson	1966		
Constable R.N. Ritchie	1915	Senior Sergeant J. O'Hara	1967		
Constable J.W. Harris	1915	Constable D.G. Gordon	1968		
Constable P.C. Vowles	1915	Constable 1/c L.G. McCosh	1968		
Constable E. Nugent	1915	Sergeant 2/c S.C. Cupples	1968	(Honour Roll as at 30 June	2017)
		3		1	/