Honours and Awards

The QPS acknowledges the outstanding efforts of our members and rewards officers who demonstrate exemplary commitment and dedication to their duties and who go above and beyond to protect and serve the community of Queensland. Listed below are some of the awards that were presented to QPS members in recognition of their accomplishments.



The **QPS Valour Award** is awarded to police officers who perform an act of exceptional bravery in hazardous circumstances. In 2017-18, the following QPS officers received the QPS Valour Award:

Senior Constable Stephen Barlow Senior Constable Clint Drew Senior Constable Scott Hill Senior Constable Catherine Nielsen Constable Dylan Maestri Constable Brittany Poulton



The **QPS Bravery Medal** is awarded for acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances. In 2017-18, the following QPS members received the QPS Bravery Medal:

Senior Sergeant Mark Sweetnam Sergeant Andrew Bauer Sergeant Mark Flynn Sergeant Gordon Holmes Sergeant Troy McLachlan Sergeant Craig Roberts Senior Constable Luke Andrew Senior Constable Glen Ayoub Senior Constable Dale Cook **Detective Senior Constable Stewart** Fairgrieve Senior Constable Daniel Fysh Senior Constable Michael Grigalius Senior Constable Wesley Hopper Senior Constable Peter Low Senior Constable Zacchary Maloney Senior Constable Jason McInnes

Senior Constable Gary Roberts Senior Constable Cain Sims Senior Constable Adam Tickner Detective Senior Constable Nicole Tunks Constable Richard Adderley Constable Dane Britton Constable Jeremy Carter Constable Michael Crawford Constable Michael Gray Constable Gary Lee Constable Ryan Packenham Mr Gavin Cousens Mr Fletcher Ericson Mr Daniel MacFarlane Mr Peter Steer



The **Australian Police Medal (APM)** is awarded for distinguished police service in an Australian police agency. In 2017-18, the following QPS members received the APM:

Chief Superintendent Kevin Guteridge Chief Superintendent Brett Schafferius Superintendent Michael Brady Superintendent Dale Frieberg Superintendent Ronald Van Saane Detective Superintendent Brian Swan Detective Superintendent Jon Wacker Detective Inspector Melissa Anderson Inspector Keiryn Dermody Inspector Lee Jeffries Inspector Samantha Sanderson Senior Sergeant Renee Hanrahan Detective Senior Sergeant Richard Lacey

NATIONAL POLICE REMEMBRANCE DAY 2017

The QPS celebrated National Police Remembrance Day on 29 September 2017 with marches, church services and candlelight vigils held across the state. On this day, we remembered and honoured Queensland police officers who have been killed in the line of duty.

All police officers and the community at large are encouraged to wear a blue and white chequered ribbon in commemoration of those who have made the ultimate sacrifice to keep the peace and enforce the law. More information on National Police Remembrance Day is available at www.police.qld.gov.au.



WITH HONOUR THEY SERVED

Constable M. Connolly Constable P.W. Cahill Constable J.F. Power Constable A. Wood Sub-Inspector 1/c G. Dyas Sub-Inspector H.P. Kaye Constable D.Ryan Cadet Sub-Inspector M. Beresford Constable W. Dwyer Constable N. Roberts Constable J. McMullen Constable J. Stewart Senior Constable H.J. Fetherston Senior Constable W. Considine Constable T.J. Callaghan Senior Constable A. Wavell Constable W. Arundell Constable P.J.Curtin Constable W.J Doyle Constable J. Sangster Constable E. Lanigan Constable B. Ebbitt Constable T.M. Black Senior Constable W. Conroy Constable W.G Clarke Constable A. Lowe Constable J. Quinn Constable R. Roots Constable P. Cahill Constable J. Cullen Constable G.Doyle Acting Sergeant D. Johnson Constable 1/c C. O' Kearney Constable A.G. Price Constable R. Orme Sergeant T.J. Heaney Constable J. Murtagh Constable P. Ryan Constable F. Hoge Sub-Inspector M. Broderick Constable W.J Mercer Constable P. J. McCabe Constable W. Murray Constable J.P. Kearney Constable W. Quinlan Constable S. Tierney Constable P.J. Moynihan Constable D.C. Bourke Constable W.J. Hughes Constable J. Johnston Constable R.N. Ritchie Constable J.W. Harris Constable J. Christiansen Constable P.C. Vowles

Constable E. Nugent 1861 1867 Constable J.S.V. Thompson 1867 Constable T. Dedman 1872 Constable G. Dewhurst Constable W.E. Bishop 1881 1881 Constable P. Mulvie 1881 Constable A.J. Curvey 1883 Constable H.M. McLean Constable J. Graham DCM 1883 1884 Constable O.H. Goodrich Constable P.J Devine 1884 Constable J. Warfield 1885 1885 Constable J. Fitzgerald Constable H. Wells 1887 1888 Constable W.W. Dumbrell 1889 Constable F.A. White 1890 Constable D.O' Donoghue 1891 Constable T. McGillycuddy 1891 Constable C.E. Castree 1893 Constable J. Herbert 1894 Constable D.J.G Dodds MID Constable E.R. Pastorelli 1894 1895 Constable J.P. Taylor Constable T. Griffin 1895 1895 Acting Sergeant W. O'Rourke 1896 Constable R.S.R. Alexander Plain Clothes Constable A.J.L. 1896 1897 Crust 1898 Constable E.J. Dawson Constable J. Herbert 1901 Constable R. Kyle 1902 Constable G.R. Young 1903 1904 Constable D. Nicol 1905 Sergeant 1/c A. Neden 1905 Sergeant 1/c T.R. Herman 1906 Constable H.F. Bidner 1908 Constable J.R. Ward Constable 1/c M. J. Howard 1908 Constable 1/c R. Dovle QPM 1908 1909 Constable K.S. Mason Senior Constable D. Gregory 1910 1913 Constable B.J. Gabriel 1913 Constable 1/c L. Smith 1914 Constable A.R. Muir Constable 1/c G.J. Olive 1914 1914 Constable D.W. Wrembeck Senior Constable C.R. Bagley 1915 1915 Senior Constable D. Trannore 1915 Constable J. Reid Senior Constable C.M. Wilson 1915 1915 Senior Sergeant J. O'Hara Constable D.G. Gordon 1915 1915 Constable 1/c L.G. McCosh 1915

1915	Sergeant 2/c S.C. Cupples	1968
1916	Detective Senior Constable D.R. Ney	1968
1916	Senior Constable C.W. Brown	1969
1916	Constable N.A. Steele	1969
1916	Constable A.R. Cambage	1969
1917	Senior Constable R.P. Moore	1970
1917	Senior Constable J. Rynne	1971
1917	Senior Constable G. Ball	1972
1917	Constable 1/c N.A. Green	1974
1917	Sergeant 2/c R.J. Harrris	1975
1917	Senior Constable L.M. Hoey	1975
1918	Inspector J.M. Walsh	1977
1918	Constable 1/c R.E. Seefeld	1977
1918	Constable (Technical Officer Grade 1) J.P.	1979
1918	Browning	
1918	Constable V.J. Hennelly	1980
1918	Constable T.R. J. Thompson	1981
1918	Constable R.A. Wilson	1981
1918	Plain Clothes Senior Constable R.J. Moody	1982
1918	Constable J.M. Sturrock	1984
1918	Constable M.L. Low	1984
1918	Plain Clothes Sergeant 2/c J.D. Neideck	1984
1918	Senior Constable A.P. Anderson	1987
1921	Senior Constable P.G.J. Kidd SC	1987
1924	Senior Constable P.A. Wegner	1987
1926	Plain Clothes Constable B.T. Handran	1989
1930	Constable 1/c A.L. Greaves	1991
	Constable M.L. Goodwin	1991
1931	Constable S.N. Lena	1992
1931	Constable S.W. J. Gill	1996
1933	Detective Sergeant L.J. Hooper	1997
1938	Senior Constable N.J. Watt	2000
1947	Senior Constable D.A. Shean	2001
1947	Senior Sergeant P.J. Irwin	2003
1950	Constable S.E. Urguhart	2005
1951	Senior Constable C.I. Barwise	2005
1952	Detective Sergeant S.I. Kerlin	2006
1953	Constable B.A. Irwin	2007
1956	Sergeant D.A. Stiller	2010
1956	Detective Senior Constable D. Leeding BM	2011
1956	Constable C. Blain	2013
1956	Senior Constable B.A. Forte	2017
1957		
1958		
1962		
1962	(Honour Roll as at 30 June 2018)	
1963		
1964		
1966		

1966

1967

1968

1968